The culture of Nigeria is shaped by Nigeria’s multiple ethnic groups. The country has 527 languages, seven of them are extinct. Nigeria also has over 1150 dialects and ethnic groups. The three largest ethnic groups are the Hausas predominantly in the north, the Yorubas predominate in the southwest, and the Igbos in the southeast. There many other ethnic groups with sizeable population across the different parts of the country. The Kanuri people are located in the northeast part of Nigeria, the Tiv people of north central and the Efik – Ibibio. 

Nigeria’s other ethnic groups, sometimes called ‘minorities’, are found throughout the country but especially in the north and the middle belt. The traditionally nomadic Fulani can be found all over West and Central Africa. The Fulani and the Hausa are predominantly Muslim while the Igbo are predominantly Christian and so are the Efik, Ibibio, and Annang people. The Yoruba are equally likely to be either Christian or Muslim. Indigenous religious practices remain important to all of Nigeria’s ethnic groups.

Some Nigerian Museums

 Benin City National Museum

 Old Residency Museum

  Museum of Fawaaz Rocks

  Slave Trade Museum Calabar

  Esiẹ Museum

  Gidan Makama Museum Kano

  Jos Museum

  Kaduna Museum

  Kanta Museum

  National Gallery of Modern Art, Lagos

  Nigerian National Museum

Oron Museum

Owo Museum

  Uli Beier Museum

  National Museum of Colonial History,Aba

  War Museum, Umuahia

  Niger-Delta Museum

  CRIMMD Museum Nigerian Photo History, Idimu.

About Us