Embassy of the Federal Republic of Nigeria to the Republic of Korea

The culture of Nigeria is shaped by Nigeria’s multiple ethnic groups. The country has 527 languages, seven of them are extinct. Nigeria also has over 1150 dialects and ethnic groups. The three largest ethnic groups are the Hausas predominantly in the north, the Yorubas predominate in the southwest, and the Igbos in the southeast. There many other ethnic groups with sizeable population across the different parts of the country. The Kanuri people are located in the northeast part of Nigeria, the Tiv people of north central and the Efik – Ibibio. 

Nigeria’s other ethnic groups, sometimes called ‘minorities’, are found throughout the country but especially in the north and the middle belt. The traditionally nomadic Fulani can be found all over West and Central Africa. The Fulani and the Hausa are predominantly Muslim while the Igbo are predominantly Christian and so are the Efik, Ibibio, and Annang people. The Yoruba are equally likely to be either Christian or Muslim. Indigenous religious practices remain important to all of Nigeria’s ethnic groups.

Some Nigerian Museums

  •  Benin City National Museum
  •  Old Residency Museum
  •   Museum of Fawaaz Rocks
  •   Slave Trade Museum Calabar
  •   Esiẹ Museum
  •   Gidan Makama Museum Kano
  •   Jos Museum
  •   Kaduna Museum
  •   Kanta Museum
  •   National Gallery of Modern Art, Lagos
  •   Nigerian National Museum
  • Oron Museum
  • Owo Museum
  •   Uli Beier Museum
  •   National Museum of Colonial History,Aba
  •   War Museum, Umuahia
  •   Niger-Delta Museum
  •   CRIMMD Museum Nigerian Photo History

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *