Full name: Federal Republic of Nigeria
Area: 923,768 km square
Capital: Abuja
Largest city: Lagos
Population: 170 million

With a population of over 170 million people, Nigeria is the most populous country in Africa, the 17th most populous in the world.

The people of Nigeria are extremely diverse, with over 250 ethnic groups speaking over 500 languages. English is the official language, is the everyday language of government most businesses, whilst most of the population speaks native languages such as Hausa, Yoruba, Igbo, Ibibio, Ebo, Fulfulde Kanuri.

50 of Nigerians are Muslim, who mostly live in the northern half of the country, while 40 are Christians, living mainly in the south. The remaining 10 practice indigenous beliefs, are widely dispersed throughout the country.



Nigeria is a constitutional presidential republic. The President acts as Head of State Head of Government, as well as Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces. The President appoints a Cabinet, consisting of 19 ministers. The legislative branch consists of the Senate House of Representatives, collectively known as the National Assembly.

Nigeria has a federal system which gives a large degree of autonomy to each of its 36 states. Each state government is led by a Governor, with a House of Assembly acting as the legislature. Presidential, gubernatorial legislative elections take place every four years.

Nigeria is an active engaged member of the international community of international organisations including the United Nations (UN), the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), the African (AU) the Organisation of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC).

It now has peacekeeping troops /or police deployed in support of peacekeeping missions in Liberia, Western Sahara, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Sudan, South Sudan, Côte d’Ivoire, Mali, Haiti Lebanon.



At USD268.7 billion, Nigeria’s nominal GDP is the second-highest of any country in Africa, is currently growing at 7.1 in real terms. Nigeria is poised to become Africa’s largest economy within the next decade, with some estimates indicating that this milestone will be reached as early as 2014.

In order to bring further prosperity to the nation, to improve the life chances of all Nigerians, President Jonathan has laid out a programme known as Vision 20:2020, which aims to see Nigeria’s economy become at least the 20th-largest in the world by the year 2020.

Nigeria’s petroleum sector is by far the most important in Africa the country possesses the largest proven oil reserves in sub-Saharan Africa. Petroleum thus makes up 87 of Nigeria’s export revenue 12 of its GDP.

Approximately 70 of Nigerians work in agriculture, which makes up around 30 of the GDP. Nigeria exports cash crops such as cocoa, cotton peanuts, has recently become a net exporter of wheat.

President Goodluck Jonathan has committed to diversifying the Nigeria’s economy over the course of his administration, expanding the manufacturing base acting as a hub for the services sector across West Africa.



Nigeria is the 10th largest country is sub-Saharan Africa by area at 923,768 km sq. it is nearly four times larger than the United Kingdom. The country is bordered by Benin to the west, Niger to the north, Chad Cameroon to the east, the Gulf of Guinea to the South.

The Niger River runs from the country’s northwest down to the coast, where it forms the Niger Delta, a group of hundreds of creeks feeding into the Gulf of Guinea, which is home to most of Nigeria’s oil reserves.

Lagos, Nigeria’s largest city is in the west of the country, on the coast of the Gulf of Guinea, close to the border with Benin. At nearly 15 million people, Lagos’s population makes it the largest city in sub-Saharan Africa, the economic beating heart of the West African region. By some estimates, Lagos itself sets to become Africa’s 13th largest economy within the next few years.